The NSU Founders 5K is one of many events hosted on the NSU Tahlequah campus that commemorates the creation of Northeastern State Normal School and pays tribute to the foresight of the Cherokee Nation Tribal Council, which authorized building the male and female seminaries at Park Hill in 1846.
The female seminary was destroyed by fire in 1887 and rebuilt near Town Branch Creek at the north end of Tahlequah two years later. Known today as Seminary Hall, the historic edifice is distinguished by its iconic clock tower, which has been replicated at NSU’s branch campuses in Muskogee and Broken Arrow.
Nearly a century ago, the state of Oklahoma purchased the Cherokee National Female Seminary and 40 acres of land from the Cherokee Nation, laying the groundwork for today’s Northeastern State University.
The Founders 5K and 1K Fun Run are held around the newly created Centennial Plaza south of Seminary Hall.
The focal point of Centennial Plaza on the south lawn of Seminary Hall is the Sequoyah Statue which stands on a Cherokee Star encircled by a seven-column, open-framed structure, which features the Cherokee syllabary and artistic depictions of the seven Cherokee clans.